Create Image on USB Drive

Other questions, messages

Moderator: feffer

blegs38552

Create Image on USB Drive

Postby blegs38552 » Sun Sep 13, 2009 12:45 pm

I am a newbie to all of this, so please be patient.

I have a USB drive named WD backup connected to my PC. The drive is partioned as NTFS.

I want to create a backup image on this drive. However, when I did, using /media/wd backup as my target, the backup was created in my Ubuntu root directory in a folder name WD backup.

How should I type in the "image file create/use" field to assure that the image will be created on my removable drive?

Also, when I type the file name, should I use the "gz" extension after the file name in the same field?

Thanks for any help - I know this is a basic question, but I have to start somewhere.

feffer

Postby feffer » Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:59 pm

Your windows partition (the source) must be unmounted, but the target USB drive needs to be mounted. Make sure you have the correct path to the USB drive. Unix/Linux must escape "white" space in filenames, so make life easier and rename your USB drive something like "wd_backup" Test your path by creating a file like:

Code: Select all

touch /media/wd_backup/testfile
If the file is created on your USB then you have the path right and can use it in partimage. Name your image file and add that to the partimage "create" line, like:

Code: Select all

/media/wd_backup/myimagefile.gz
And yes if you're using compression, you have to add the ".gz" Note that using partimage for ntfs partitions can be problematic.

Regards,
feffer

blegs38552

Postby blegs38552 » Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:05 pm

Thanks - I want to use Partimage to back up mu Ubuntu partition, not a windows partition. I see what you mean about renaming my USB drive, but does my source Ubuntu drive have to be unmounted? When I try this, I am told that the drive is in use and cannot be unmounted.

feffer

Postby feffer » Tue Sep 15, 2009 12:19 am