partimage rewrite or fork

Discuss about the plans: what features to add, how to develop, ...

Moderator: feffer

paulhewlett

partimage rewrite or fork

Postby paulhewlett » Thu Jul 26, 2007 2:11 pm

I have been using partimage very successfully for the past 2 years when suddenly I could not restore any images that had been split. A scan of these forums indicates :

- this is a known problem
    - there is a workaround involving zcat,dd and stripping the first 512 bytes off volumes greater than 1
    - do not compress multivolume images
    - these concerns go back 3-4 years and still have not been fixed
    - partimage 0.7 seems to have stopped development
    - partimage is written in C++ and is not the best code I have seen
    - partimage is an intimate blend of GUI (newt) threads all in a mix of C and C++
    - the design does not comply with accepted UNIX philosophy - many small tasks
    - everybody wants to use partimage
    - partimage is not actively maintained
    - there is no managed development process - no CVS/svn repository

The error I was getting happens when the client is doing a restore and the server has to switch from the first volume to the second. The error displayed is 'Can't read block 0 at 0'. The fix is to uncompress the second volume, strip the first 512 bytes using dd, recompress and then zcat the files together and pipe the result to partimage or to an ssh tunnel i.e. the partimaged does not seem to work.

The details are (thanks to 'treczoks' on this forum and Steven Shiau):

Put the following script (called 'partcat') in your executable path on the server PC:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
#
# script to workaround partimage restore bug of multivolume images
#
toskip=0
for i in $1.???
do
        zcat $i 2>/dev/null | dd skip=$toskip 2>/dev/null
        toskip=1
done
exit 0

Note the redirections of &2 to null - these messages confuse the partimage display if left out.

From the PC that you want to restore type:

Code: Select all